POTASSIUM METHYLATE PRODUCTION TECHNOLOGY

Potassium methylate is used in fine and heavy-tonnage organic synthesis as an alkaline catalyst, in particular in transesterification reactions. Solid potassium methylate and its solution in methanol is produced with a weight content of 30-33%. Recent years have seen a steady increase in the production of biodiesel, for which alkali metal methylate is a catalyst. The use of alcoholate instead of hydroxide allows for a 10% increase in biodiesel output. Potassium methylate consumption per tonne of biodiesel is 18kg.

Himtek Engineering CJSC has developed technology for obtaining potassium methylate from potassium hydroxide and methanol with the removal of reaction water in a mass exchange apparatus by methanol vapour surplus.

Potassium methylate synthesis is conducted in a continuous process in a closed circuit with methanol recirculation. Water formed in the chemical reaction and introduced as an impurity with the initial potassium hydroxide source, is removed from the distillation column cube and is treated as waste.

The technology differs from existing ones because the initial raw material is solid potassium hydroxide and methanol, taken in a quantity required to obtain the desired product and the only waste product is water. The process is not energy consuming, and explosive hydrogen gas does not escape during production, which increases the level of safety.

The production process is protected by patent of the Russian Federation No. 2358963 of 10.08.2007.

Raw material and energy consumption per metric tonne of product

The table shows raw material and energy unit consumption for the production of one tonne of 32% solution of potassium methylate in methanol.

Name Unit consumption per tonne of potassium methylate
Potassium hydroxide0,256
Methanol0,81
Vapour5,5 Gcal
Recirculated water (differential 10K)56 m³

Технология производства метилата калия

Метилат калия используется в тонком и в многотоннажном органическом синтезе в качестве щелочного катализатора, в частности, в реакциях переэтерификации. В мире производят твердый метилат калия и его раствор в метаноле с содержанием 30-33% масс. В последние годы наблюдается стабильный рост производства биодизеля, катализатором получения которого является метилат щелочного металла. Применение алкоголята вместо гидроокиси позволяет увеличить выход биодизеля на 10%. Расход метилата калия на тонну биодизеля составляет 18 кг.

ЗАО «Химтэк Инжиниринг» разработана технология получения метилата калия из гидроксида калия и метанола с удалением реакционной воды в массообменном аппарате избытком паров метанола.

Синтез метилата калия ведется в непрерывном процессе по замкнутой схеме с рециркуляцией метанола. Вода, образовавшаяся в химической реакции и введенная как примесь с исходным гидроксидом калия, выводится из куба ректификационной колонны и является отходом производства.

Технология отличается от существующих тем, что исходным сырьем является твердый гидроксид калия и метанол, взятые в количестве, необходимом для получения целевого продукта, а отходом производства является только вода. Процесс не энергоемок, в производстве не выделяется взрывоопасный газ – водород, что повышает уровень его безопасности.

Способ получения защищен патентом РФ № 2358963 от 10.08.2007 года.

Потребление сырья и энергии на метрическую тонну продукта

В таблице приведены расходные нормы сырья и энергетики на производство 1 т раствора 32% масс. метилата калия в метаноле.

Наименование Расходные нормы на 1 т метилата калия
Гидроксид калия0,256
Метанол0,81
Пар5,5 Гкал
Оборотная вода (перепад 10К)56 м³